Press "Enter" to skip to content

NASSCOM Rolls Out Program For Women Technologists

NASSCOM (National Association of Software and Services Companies) has rolled out W2RT (Women Wizards Rule Tech), which is an all women technologists exclusive program. It looks to elevate the number of female at senior levels with the capability of taking leadership jobs. This will allow their retention in their selected domains.

The program was declared at the NASSCOM D&I Summit conducted previously at Chennai in March 2018. It is a joint program of the DSCI (Data Security Council of India) and NASSCOM SSC (Sector Skills Council).

President at NASSCOM, Debjani Ghosh, and Chairman & Managing Director at Biocoin Ltd., (Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw), were among the distinguished speakers at the inauguration conducted this week at the Infosys Convention Centre.

Speaking at the initiative, Senior Director at NASSCOM, Ashok Pamidi, claimed, “We are delighted to declare this program developed to support females who are shifting up the in career ladder, while also making the path for possible leaders of the future. Leaning towards professionals in core techs from the BPM, IT-ITES, R&D, and product sectors, we are sure that this will offer females an edge in the growth and development of their careers.”

On a related note, previously this year, NASSCOM rolled out 2nd edition of its report dubbed as “Women and IT Scorecard – India.” The report predicted that 50% of companies will have more than 20% females in the C-suite level. It forecasted that the female percentage at the senior level is ready to elevate to almost 60%. As per the report, HR guidelines such as flexi-work, conveyance, parental leave, work-from-home, healthcare, and anti-harassment have led to the optimistic trend.

On a different note, NASSCOM earlier claimed that it has hired Rishad Premji, the Board member and Chief Strategy Officer at Wipro, as its chairman for this financial year. Apart from this, NASSCOM hired Keshav Murugesh, CEO of WNS Group, as the vice chairman for this financial year.